ICD-10 Information and Implementation

ICD-10 is the 10th revision of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD) with diagnosis codes that classify diseases and health problems. The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) mandated the replacement of the International Classification of Diseases, 9th Edition/Revision (ICD-9) diagnostic and procedure code sets with the International Classification of Diseases, 10th Edition/Revision (ICD-10) as of October 1, 2015. 

The ICD-10 system:

  • Accounts for new procedures and diagnoses
  • Better measures health care services
  • Improves health monitoring
  • Provides better data
  • Decreases the need for more claim documentation
  • Makes it easier to add codes

ABS ICD-10 System Implementation 

ABS implementation of the ICD-10 system occurred in two phases: 

Phase 1: The ABS claims processing system was upgraded to the ICD-10 platform in 4Q 2014. The upgrade expanded necessary data fields and provided the capability to process claims in accordance with ICD-10 requirements. The system was then fully tested and moved to production.

Phase 2: Began 2Q 2015 and included staff training and testing with ABS EDI trading partners and vendors. ABS was fully compliant with ICD-10 prior to the federally-mandated October 1, 2015 deadline.